You may conduct a motor vehicle records search only for a purpose permitted under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (“DPPA”), 18 U.S. Code § 2721 et seq., as amended. By proceeding, you represent that you have read and understand the terms of the DPPA, and that you are conducting your search for a purpose authorized by the DPPA. You understand and agree that your use of this service and of the results of your motor vehicle records search for any purpose other than a DPPA permitted purpose may subject you to liability under the DPPA. Vehicle owner information is not always available. You will be required to attest to these statements again in the member's area prior to conducting your search. As required by the DPPA, we will retain a record of your request, including your name and selected permitted purpose(s).
Washington License Plate Lookup Options
All vehicles in Washington State are fitted with a license plate that serves the primary purpose of identifying their owner and the state from where it is registered. License plates differ depending on every state, country, and type of vehicle. To begin your Washington license plate lookup online use the above form.
According to Washington State DOT regulations, the license plate has to be fitted on the back and the rear side of the vehicle. Besides identifying information regarding a vehicle’s owner, the license number also provides other information like vehicle model and the year it was manufactured.
How To Get a License Plate In Washington
Vehicle registration is required after buying or acquiring a vehicle as a gift or through any other legal way. Vehicle owners who fail to register their vehicles within the stipulated time are penalized. In Washington, car owners have a period of 30 days to register vehicles brought from another state and 15 days for bought cars. Registering new vehicles bought in a dealership in Washington is quite easy. The car dealers fill all forms and documents. After the Washington vehicle registration process is complete, the documents and license plate will be sent to the vehicle owner. However, for people who purchase a vehicle from a private party, they have to register the vehicle themselves. To register for a license plate, the new car owner has to meet various conditions.During registration, the vehicle owner has to present a valid Washington driving license, vehicle title, an odometer disclosure statement, emissions testing documents, and vehicle purchase agreement. The registration process is charged a fee.
Washington License Plate Registration Fee
The cost incurred while registering for a vehicle differs depending on various characteristics. Standard features used to determine a vehicle’s registration fee include the car’s model, make, year of manufacture, weight, and the county from where it was first registered.
During registration, the vehicle’s owner will be required to pay a registration service fee, excise duty, district charges, license plate fee, inspection fees, use tax, and county congestion reduction charge. The process can be completed through the state’s online portal.
Washington License Plate Types
In Washington, different types of license plates exist. The special license plates include personalized plates that contain a maximum of seven characters. You can also look up for the specially designed plates for organizations and institutions, special interest plates used for advocating for a particular cause, collegiate plates for universities and colleges, and military plates.
Renewing Washington License Plates
Car owners are required to renew their license plates once they expire. The expiry date is indicated on the license plate. However, DOL notifies car owners when the expiry date is about to reach.
A car owner who fails to renew his or her license plate on time will be required to pay a late plate renewal fee. Besides, the person risks being ticketed every time he or she is pulled over by a police officer. The plate can be renewed six months before the expiry date.
When renewing your license plate, you will have to pay a renewal fee and provide the vehicle identification number, your identification card, and a copy of an insurance policy. Before the registration, vehicle owners should first take their vehicle for inspection. A license plate gives a car owner permission to operate on the state’s roads legally.
Last Updated: January 21, 2019
Please be aware that the information obtained using SearchQuarry.com searches may not always be accurate and up to date as we do not create, verify, or guarantee the accuracy or the amount of information provided through our service. Data availability is largely dependent on various public sources from which the information is aggregated. SearchQuarry.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by Fair Credit Reporting Act and should not be used to determine an individual’s eligibility for personal credit or employment, or to assess risk associated with any business transactions such as tenant screening. By using the services offered through this website you agree to comply with all of the conditions set forth in our terms and privacy disclosure. The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes such as stalking or harassing others, or investigating public officials or celebrities. Violators may be subject to civil and criminal litigation and penalties. All searches are subject to our terms and applicable laws. SafeCart is the retailer of products on this site.