Louisiana Death Records are managed by the Department of Health, under the State Registrar and Vital Records office. They are issued for any person who has died in the state and are used to close personal accounts, pay any creditors, and start the process of dividing any assets and paying out an insurance policy. This is a vital record that you must have several copies of if you’re handling the affairs of someone who has passed away.
How to Get Louisiana Death Records
You can obtain a Louisiana death record in person, online or by phone, or by mail. The base fee to search for and issue a copy is $7.00, though other fees may apply.
You can apply in person at the Vital Records office in New Orleans, where a walk-in service is available from 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM on weekdays. You will need to bring your completed application and photo ID, as well as cash, a check, or a money order to cover the fees.
If the death has occurred after July 7th, 2012, you can apply to receive a copy of a record from participating Louisiana clerks of court, located in parishes throughout the state. An additional fee will apply.
Ordering in person from a Vital Records kiosk is also possible. There are eight locations in the state. You will need to complete an application and security screening, and have your identity verified. Once this is complete, your order will be placed and sent back via the US Postal Service or an expedited service such as FedEx. You’ll need to cover an additional security fee.
Louisiana Death Records Online
You can order copies of Louisiana death records online or by phone through VitalChek, a nationwide records service provider that works closely with the state government. Credit cards are accepted and additional fees may apply for expedited postage, but you will also be able to check the status of your order online.
To order by phone through VitalChek, you can call 1-877-605-8562.
Louisiana Death Records By Mail
If you apply for a record by mail, you will need to send your application, as well as a check or money order to cover the fees – there is an additional charge of $0.50. Send the application to the following address:
Bureau of Vital Records and Statistics
P.O. Box 60630
New Orleans, LA 70160
You can expect to receive a copy of the death record within eight to ten weeks.
Who Can Obtain a Louisiana Death Record?
Louisiana is technically a closed-record state, meaning that only close relatives of the deceased, or an attorney acting on their behalf, can apply for a copy of a death record that is less than 100 years old. However, via the Freedom of Information Act, you can file a request for a record. This will be reviewed and can be granted or denied.
Death Record Look Up By State
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia