Alabama death records contain various pieces of information. You’ll find the name of the person who is deceased, their date of birth, their date of death, the cause of their death, and even the location of their death. The cause of death is determined by the coroner in many cases. This information is not considered private, and anyone can view it when they decide to look up the death certificate of a loved one.
In many instances, death certificates are necessary aspects of life. Not everyone comes across a time in life in which one is necessary, but many do. A good reasons an Alabama resident might require a death certificate is for a remarriage. If a woman is widowed when her husband passes, she might decide to later remarry. When she applies for her new marriage license, she’ll need to provide a death certificate to prove her former husband is no longer alive to prove she is no longer married. There are many reasons in addition to this, but this is a very common occurrence.
Alabama law doesn’t allow for everyone to obtain certified copies of death certificates unless the certificate is more than 25-years-old. If it is newer than this, it’s only available to a specific set of people.
– Parent of the deceased
– Spouse of the deceased
– Child of the deceased
– Sibling of the deceased
– Grandchild of the deceased
– Legal representative of the deceased
It costs $15 to obtain a copy of a death certificate at any location in Alabama. You can obtain a copy of this information by filling out a form with the Alabama Department of Health, or you can visit in person any location of any health department in Alabama to obtain a copy when you need one. There are several pieces of information you’ll need available when you go to obtain a copy of your item.
– Full legal name of the deceased
– Date of death
– County of death
– Social security number
– Date of birth
– Name of the deceased’s spouse
– Name of parents
– Your name
– Your signature
– Your relationship to the deceased
– Your contact information
Without all of the above information, you may not obtain a copy of a death certificate in Alabama. If the death did not occur in Alabama, you should note you may not obtain a copy of a death certificate in the state. It’s only available to those whose lives end while they are in Alabama. If the death occurred elsewhere, it’s time to look up information regarding the rules of death certificates in that state. Every state has similar laws, but they are not entirely the same in terms of every final detail.