In Oregon, the Center for Health Statistics maintains and issues the records of all deaths that occur in the state of Oregon. The Center for Health Statistics maintains Oregon Death Records of 1903-present. In case you didn’t know that already, the Center for Health Statistics is Oregon’s Vital Records division.
Under Oregon law, maintaining the records of all births and deaths that occur in the state is mandatory. In addition to the state Oregon Vital Records office, there is a local Vital Records office in each county of Oregon. People in Oregon can obtain the death record they need from the state Vital Records office or the local Vital Records office. Obtaining Oregon Death Records from the Vital Records office is rather easy. There are four ways for you to make a request for and obtain the death record you need including in person, by mail, by phone and online. Following is how you can obtain the death record you need via each method.
The first way to obtain the Oregon death record you need is in person. To make an in person request for the death record you need, visit the local Vital Records office, provide complete record information, provide your social security number, present copy of valid photo ID, and pay the $28.25 fee. This record fee includes a refundable $3.25 security fee
The second way to make a request for and obtain the death record you need is by mail. To request the death record you need by mail, complete, sign and mail the Oregon Death Record Order Form along with a copy of your valid photo ID to:
Oregon Vital Records
PO Box 14050
Portland OR 97293
In addition to the above, mail the pay order or check for the fee to the address mentioned above. The record search fee for mail request is $25.
This is a service that Oregon Health Authority provides through its partner VitalCheck, an independent company that takes requests for state vital records over the phone and online. To make a phone request for the death record you need, call VitalCheck at 1-888-896-4988, provide the complete record information, provide your SSN and DOB, and pay the $44.95 fee.
The final way to obtain the death record you need is online. As mentioned above, you need to make an online request for the Oregon death record you need to VitalCheck. In order to do this, visit the website of the VitalCheck at any time of the day, follow the instructions given there, and pay the $43 nonrefundable fee.
In addition to the aforementioned ways, you can obtain Oregon Death Records through online public databases. To find out more, call the Oregon Health Authority at 971-673-1222.