If you have an issue related to your vehicle or driver’s license in Kentucky, then chances are you will have to head to the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Licensing (MVL) Division. The Kentucky MVL, which is essentially the same as other states’ DMVs, provides a wealth of information on various driving-related matters. Their website, Drive.ky.gov, is especially useful at putting most driving concerns into one easy-to-navigate place. Below we will look at some of the services that the Kentucky MVL offers, both online and at their offices.
The website for the Kentucky MVL contains an extensive list of driver services. These services include information about:
Much of the information provided by the website can direct you to the appropriate state or county offices where you can find out more information. The MVL doesn’t always run the licensing-related services listed on its website, but they can tell you who does. For example, most driving tests are administered not by the MVL but by the Kentucky State Police. Likewise, all Kentucky driver’s licenses are issued by the Circuit Court Clerk’s office of whichever county you reside in.
The vehicle services section of the Kentucky MVL is likewise very informative and can direct you to the appropriate authorities for all your vehicle licensing needs. Some of the vehicle services, such as registration renewals, can be completed online. Vehicle services offered by the Kentucky MVL are:
As with the driver services section of the website, the vehicle services section also includes a list of useful forms and a tool for finding a nearby MVL office.
As mentioned above, driver licenses are issued by the Circuit Court Clerk’s office of whichever county you reside in. You can find your Kentucky Circuit Court Clerk’s office Kentucky Circuit Court Clerk’s office here. Getting a driver’s license is similar in Kentucky as in other states, but with a couple differences. To obtain a driver’s license, you must be over 16 and pass a written, vision, and skills test administered by the Kentucky State Police.
If you are under 18 years of age, you must get a parent or legal guardian to sign the Driver’s License/Identification Card application form for you. Furthermore, applicants under 18 must present a School Compliance Verification form from their school district. In compliance with the state’s No Pass/No Drive Law, applicants under 18 must be enrolled in school and not be academically deficient.
When applying for a license remember to bring to the Circuit Court Clerk your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security number, proof of Kentucky residency, and your birth certificate. You must bring the originals of all documents as photocopies will not be accepted.
The Kentucky MVL offers two types of official driving records: a three-year driving history record and a five-year full driving record (also called a clearance letter). Three-year records can be purchased online, by mail, or in person at a Division of Driver Licensing Field Office. The cost for purchasing the record in person or through the mail is $3, whereas to purchase it online is $5.50. You may also be able to find unofficial copies of your driving record online through SearchQuarry.com and other third-party databases.
To purchase a clearance letter, which you will need for a bar exam or court use, you can only do so via mail, over the phone, or in person. You cannot purchase a five-year record online. The cost of a clearance letter is $3.
Nobody likes getting a traffic citation, but it is good to know that when you receive one in Kentucky that you will likely be able to pay for it online. The Kentucky Court of Justice offers an ePay service for prepayable offenses, such as speeding tickets. To pay online, you will need your court date, issuing county, and the citation control number, all of which can be found on your ticket. You must pay the fee in full at least four days before your scheduled court date. In addition to the fee, there is another $5 credit card fee for paying online. Please be aware that Harlan and Menifee counties currently don’t accept ePay payments.
Don’t forget that if your citation comes with potential points being applied to your license then you may want to consider enrolling in a traffic school. By successfully completing a state-approved traffic school course, you may be able to keep points off of your license, thus preventing your insurance premiums from going up.
Please be aware that the information obtained using SearchQuarry.com searches may not always be accurate and up to date as we do not create, verify, or guarantee the accuracy or the amount of information provided through our service. Data availability is largely dependent on various public sources from which the information is aggregated. SearchQuarry.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by Fair Credit Reporting Act and should not be used to determine an individual’s eligibility for personal credit or employment, or to assess risk associated with any business transactions such as tenant screening. By using the services offered through this website you agree to comply with all of the conditions set forth in our terms and privacy disclosure. The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes such as stalking or harassing others, or investigating public officials or celebrities. Violators may be subject to civil and criminal litigation and penalties. All searches are subject to our terms and applicable laws.
Last Updated: 2018-06-17