These records are referred to as driving records. They are sometimes called a driving abstract or Colorado motor vehicle record. There are two types of driving records offered, which are certified and non-certified. Certified records are official documents that are legal as evidence in court. Non-certified records are mainly for personal use.
A driving record is a public account of your Colorado driving history. Your driving record can be used by employers, insurance companies, courts and for personal. Many insurance companies will base your monthly premium off of your past driving history. Employers will make hiring decisions based off of your driving record and will consistently audit your record as long as you’re employed.
It’s a good idea to review your driving record at least once a year. This will help to ensure that all the information on your record is accurate. If you catch any errors on your record you can report them to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.
Colorado driving records include personal information including driver’s name, address, phone number, social security number, date of birth, and physical appearance. A driving record also contains non-personal information that is free for the public to access. These include license suspension, revocations, traffic citations, violations, fines, accidents, points, license classification, and endorsements.
You can obtain your driving record from any local Colorado DMV office or by mail. The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles does not currently offer records online. You will need to provide the DMV with your date of birth, license number, signature, photo identification, and payment.
All requests by mail must be paid with a check or money order made payable to the Colorado Department Of Revenue. You will need to make a photocopy of your current driver’s license as your form of photo identification when submitting a request by mail. You will need to send your application to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles located in Lakewood, Colorado.
The following costs apply to all Colorado driving records:
Non-Certified Driver Record – $9
Certified Driver Record – $10