Oklahoma DPS – Department of Public Safety
Unlike many states, Oklahoma technically doesn’t have a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Instead, most driver licensing matters are handled by the Oklahoma DPS or Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, while vehicle registration and titling is handled by the Oklahoma Tax Commission. There is also a Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), but this government agency is primarily responsible for licensing dealers and most drivers won’t need to interact with the Oklahoma MVC.
With many driving-related concerns spread out over multiple agencies, finding what you need can be a bit of a challenge. Below we will look at some common driving-related issues in Oklahoma and how to get them taken care of.
To get a driver’s license in Oklahoma, you will need to use the Oklahoma DPS. Applications for drivers’ licenses can only be made in person and you must present yourself before a Driver License Examiner. You can find a list of DPS examiner sites With this Free DMV Finder.
When applying for a license, be sure to bring with you a piece of primary ID (such as a birth certificate), secondary ID (like your Social Security card), and your Social Security number. If your last name on your identification is different from your current last name, then you will also need to bring additional proof, such as a marriage certificate, showing that the ID belongs to you. Those taking a driving test must also provide proof of liability insurance. To get your license, you will need to pass a vision test, writing test, and driving test.
If you are under 18, you will need to apply for a learner’s permit. You will also need to provide proof of attendance from your high school or vocational school. Furthermore, a parent or guardian must be present with you. Applicants under the age of 16 must also provide proof that they are in a driver’s education course.
As mentioned above, if you are applying for your first license in Oklahoma then you will have to pass a driving test. Fortunately, scheduling a driving test is easy. The Oklahoma DPS runs a service called Inline Online for scheduling various appointments, including for drive tests, learner permits, license transfers, and more.
You can order your Oklahoma driving record online by following this link. By law, you can only order your own driving record. You can only request another person’s driving record if you are legally authorized to do so.
The cost of a driving record is $25. However, that fee is waived if you are 65 or older. There is also a $3 fee if you want a certified copy and a $2.50 transaction fee. When ordering a record online, the document will be available to print in PDF format and a copy will be sent to the email address you provide. You can also order your driving records through the mail or in person.
If you don’t need an official copy of your driving record, but you are just curious about what it may contain, then you may find third-party websites, such as SearchQuarry.com, useful.
The Oklahoma DPS has a number of forms available online for you to print. Forms that you may find useful include a Collision Record Request, Driving Record/Motor Vehicle Report, Driver Training and Education, and Commercial Driver’s License.
Getting a ticket, like a speeding citation, is never fun, but at least if you do get one being able to pay it online without visiting the courthouse is a welcome option. In Oklahoma, your ability to pay online depends on which county you received your ticket in. Many of the larger counties now accept online payments through the Oklahoma State Courts Network’s E-Payments system.
For counties that don’t yet accept E-Payments you will have to pay for your citation either by visiting the courthouse in person or mailing your payment to the appropriate address. You can find instructions on how to pay on your citation.
Remember, however, that by paying your ticket you are admitting guilt. Traffic citations may not sound serious, but they are technically crimes and if you get enough of them you could lose your license or see your insurance premiums go up. You may want to consider enrolling in a traffic school to help keep points off your license or to bring your premiums down.
All vehicles over 10 horsepower must be titled and tagged in Oklahoma. Registration and titling in the state is done through the Oklahoma Tax Commission. To register or title a vehicle or to transfer the registration or title to a new owner, you will have to visit an authorized tag dealer in person. You can renew your vehicle’s registration online through the Tax Commission’s Convenient Auto Renewal System (CARS). Most vehicle registrations can be renewed through CARS so long as the renewal is being done by the current record owner.
Please be aware that the information obtained using SearchQuarry.com searches may not always be accurate and up to date as we do not create, verify, or guarantee the accuracy or the amount of information provided through our service. Data availability is largely dependent on various public sources from which the information is aggregated. SearchQuarry.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by Fair Credit Reporting Act and should not be used to determine an individual’s eligibility for personal credit or employment, or to assess risk associated with any business transactions such as tenant screening. By using the services offered through this website you agree to comply with all of the conditions set forth in our terms and privacy disclosure. The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes such as stalking or harassing others, or investigating public officials or celebrities. Violators may be subject to civil and criminal litigation and penalties. All searches are subject to our terms and applicable laws.
Responses to “Oklahoma DPS Driver Records”
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience with your Oklahoma traffic citation and how your lawyer was negligent which put you in this situation with the Oklahoma DPS. That being said, we can certainly point you in the right direction on how to check your Oklahoma CDL online. See below for a quick run down on how to lookup your Oklahoma CDL status for the Oklahoma DPS online.
Oklahoma Commercial Driver’s License Status
1. Visit the Oklahome DPS website
2. Click on their Official Records tab
3. Run a CDL Motor Vehicle Report
4. Fill out the form with your CDL number
5. Pay the $25 fee and view your CDL status
My name is Milos,I’m a truck driver. The reason why I writing you this, is because I had a speeding offense in Oklahoma, and I hired an lawyer to handle that instead of me, but after my court date passed,and after I payed him, he stopped answering. So, can you please tell me,is there any way I can check the status of my CDL online for State of Oklahoma? Thank you
If your Oklahoma license was suspended and you were able to get the charges dropped, you should bring your documentation and your ID or Suspended Oklahoma Driver’s license to the Oklahoma DPS office and request to have your driver license suspension lifted.
How to Get my Oklahoma Drivers License Reinstated
Oklahoma driver’s license reinstatement requirements can vary depending on the nature of your suspension violation and conviction. Typically once those are completed you can visit the Oklahoma DPS and request to have your driver’s license suspension lifted and then reinstated.
I had my license suspended and went to court to get the charges dropped. The charges were dropped after a lengthy period of time and now I need to know how to get my license back without having to take classes to do so.
What do I need to do achieve this?
We can certainly assist you with an Oklahoma DPS driver record however you will want to contact the Oklahoma DPS directly about the status of your Oklahoma driver’s license.
How to Find the Status of My Oklahoma Driver’s License
Oklahoma Driver’s License information can be obtained by calling the Oklahoma Driver Compliance phone number @ (580) 237-5478 , or you can fill out a request for Driver’s License information online at the Oklahoma DPS website.
Just trying to figure out if I have a valid driver\’s license.
You are most welcome Bertrand, we always appreciate feedback and are happy to hear that our Oklahoma DPS Driver Record article has helped you out. Please reach out if we can assist you with any specific Oklahoma driving records, Oklahoma vehicle records or any Oklahoma public records.
Thank you Lovely! That was a very informative article about the Oklahoma DPS and how to procure Oklahoma DPS Driving Records and vehicle records. Your site has helped me out tremendously. Thank you 🙂
Last Updated: 2018-07-10