Maryland MVA – Motor Vehicle Administration
Whether you’re a new Maryland resident or you have lived here all your life, sooner or later you will likely need to deal with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA, run by the Maryland Department of Transportation, is Maryland’s version of the DMV. While nobody likes waiting in line at the MVA, the good news is that many Maryland MVA services can now be completed online from the comfort of your home. We’ll take a quick look at some of the services provided by the MVA and whether they can be done online, over the phone, or in person
Maryland MVA Records
If you need a copy of your Maryland driving record, then the good news is that you can request it online. You can choose either a certified copy of your driving record, which will cost $12, or a non-certified copy, which will cost $9. While a non-certified copy may be sufficient if you are just curious about what’s on your record, if you need the record for legal, employment, or insurance purposes then you are better off getting a certified copy. To request your record online you will need your driver’s license number, date of birth, and Maryland MVA PIN or the last four digits of your Social Security Number or ITIN. The records request page can be found here.
Maryland Driving Test
Maryland allows you to schedule most driving tests online, from the law test that new drivers need to complete to the driver skills test. Also, unlike most other states, the Maryland MVA even allows you to schedule a test for a Maryland commercial driver’s license (CDL) online. You can look up availability for most driving tests here. If you are a new resident of Maryland then you can trade in your out-of-state American license for a Maryland one without worrying about completing a driving test. Also, thanks to license reciprocity agreements, if you have a valid license issued by South Korea, France, Germany, Taiwan, or Japan then you can also trade it in for a Maryland one and skip the driving test
Maryland Driver’s License
As mentioned above, American and drivers from select countries can easily transfer their out-of-state licenses for Maryland ones simply by completing a vision test. You will have 60 days to apply for a Maryland driver’s license after you arrive in the state or 30 days if you are applying for a commercial driver’s license. Also, your license must not be suspended nor can it be expired for more than a year. If it is expired for more than a year then you will need to complete a knowledge and skills test. When exchanging your out-of-state license for a Maryland one then you will need to surrender the out-of-state one. To get a new license you will need to visit the MVA in person, but if you are simply renewing your Maryland license then you can do so online.
Maryland Driver Request Forms
The forms page of the Maryland MVA can be a little tricky to find, but it is there. You can click here to be taken to the forms page, which is subsequently divided into various other pages, such as for commercial drivers, driver records, vehicle registration, and so on.
Maryland Traffic Tickets
Maryland uses a license points system that can eventually lead to your license being suspended or revoked. Most moving violations, such as speeding tickets, have a number of points associated with them, with more points attached to more serious violations. If you accumulate enough points then you will face consequences. For example, if you accumulate 5 to 7 points on your license then you will have to enroll in traffic school, which is referred to as a Driver Improvement Program. With 8 to 11 points your license will be suspended while with 12 or more points it will be revoked
If you want to pay your traffic ticket online then you can do so only if your traffic citation doesn’t say that you “Must Appear” in court. Must Appear citations tend to be more serious, such as for driving under the influence. Payable traffic citations can be paid online here. Remember that even if you aren’t required to appear in court for your traffic citation, you should understand that paying your fine means that you are pleading guilty to an offence, which will result in a record.
Maryland Vehicle Registration
You will need to title and register your vehicle within 60 days of arriving in Maryland. For titling, you will need to provide proof of ownership, proof of purchase price, an odometer reading, a Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate from the Maryland State Police, and all necessary forms. In some situations, you may also have to provide lien information, lien release, and power of attorney. For registration, you will also need to provide a Certificate of Inspection, proof of insurance, and pay the necessary fees