Potential employers, insurance companies, courts, and others may request to see a resident’s Louisiana driving record for different purposes. There are regulations about who can obtain specific driving records. These regulations are in place to protect sensitive personal information about Louisiana residents.
Your driving record contains your personal information for identification as well as your past driving history. All personal information is considered private and may only be requested by the driver, anyone that has the borrower’s written consent, or those approved under the Drivers Privacy Protection Act. All the remaining information is considered public and can be assessed by anyone.
If you are obtaining a driver record for someone else, you can get it by mail or in person. If you are obtaining your own driving record you can get it in person, by mail, or online.
You need to fill out the Louisiana ODR Request Form (Form R0800). This can be submitted along with a $16 fee at a local DMV Office. These are located in Shreveport, Alexandria, Lakes Charles, Monroe, and Baton Rouge. Fees can be paid by cash, check, money order, credit card, or debit card. If you are requesting someone else’s driving record you will need to bring a written consent form that contains the driver’s name, license number, date of birth, and signature.
Just like above, you will need to fill out the Louisiana ODR Request Form (Form R0800). You need to submit the form by mail to the Office of Motor Vehicles. You must include a check or money order for the $16 driving record fee.
You can obtain your own driving record online. You may not obtain anyone else’s information. The online record access can be found at the Louisiana Government website. Records are available every day from 4:00 AM TO 11:30 PM. There is an additional $2 fee for electronic commerce, which brings the total to $18 for retrieving your driving record online.
When you are requesting your driver record you will need a few things. These include your name, date of birth, class of license, address, payment, and license number. You can pay online via debit or credit card. All online records are available for up to 30 days from the date of the request. All online records are printer-friendly.